Medal Recipients

tom161 Member Photo

Clipped by tom161

Medal Recipients - THE CONVENTION'S CLOSE. Banquet Harks the...
THE CONVENTION'S CLOSE. Banquet Harks the Adjournment of the Meeting. , C Oltrogge of Tripoli, Iowa, Wins First Prize, a Gold Medal-List Medal-List Medal-List of Other Awards. Rockyord, 111., Feb. 28. Special Tiltgram. The third' annual convention of the National Bntter and Cheese Makers' As sociation came to a close mis evening with a grand banquet at the Nelson Hotel ten' dered the visitors by the city. At the close of the banquet Secretary Bur ridge presented the winners in the bntter eon- eon- test with their respective medals and di plomas. Then the following toasta were responded to: "The National Butter and Cheese Makers' Association," 8. E. Allen, Forest City. Iowa; "Refrigerator Trans portation," C. F.. Dexter, Chicago; "New York, as a Butter Market," George Reif snider, New York; "What I Don't Know About Butter Making," P. A. Leighton. New Hampton, Iowa: 'The Power of the Press," J. Stanley Browne, Bockford, I1L ; "Chicago as a Butter Market," Market," C Y. Knight, Chicago; "The Magnitude Magnitude of the Interests We Represent," D. W. Wilson, Elgin, 111. ;' "Progressive Dairying." Dairying." Lovejoy Johnson, Stillmao Valley; "Cheese Making Up to Date," J. K. Powell. The first business at the morning session was the annual election which resulted: President, J. W. Segar, Peca tonics, 111. ; vice president at large, H. F. Hines, Stella, Neb. ; secretary. E. I. Burridge, Chicaro; treasurer, H. E. Loyister, Hudson, Mich.; vice presidents, W. S. Graham, North Aurora, I1L : 8. B. Sibley, Slate Center. Iowa ; E. M. Moore, St Claire, Mich. ; Jacob Schlosser, Jr., Bremen, lad. ; Dr. Babcock, Madison, Wis.; James T. Harris, Owatonna, Minn.; William Hi Sutton, Table Rock, Neb. Fin Topics Discussed. Five papers were read and discussed at length todays as follows: H. B. Burler, DeKalb, III, "Ripening and Churning Temperatures;" J. T. Bentiey, of Ohio, "Markets and' How Prices Should Be Made;" J. H. Morad, "An Address to Butter-Makers;" Butter-Makers;" Butter-Makers;" Butter-Makers;" G. B. Dawson. "Profit in Pasteurization;" W. J. Smith, "Benefit of Experiment Stations to Butter and Cheese Makers;" J. K. Powell, "Export Cheese." Messrs. Buggies, of Boston; Reifsnider, of ,e York, and Collyier, of Chicago, the judges in the butter contest presented their report, awarding the first prize, a gold medal, in the separated cream butter exhibits to F. C Oltrogge, of Tripoli, Iowa, aud the second to H. Koeneke, of the same place. Tbe standard was 94 points, and those above that were given silver medals. Tbe high scores are as follows : Charles Slrsssburg. Akerley, Iowa. 94; H. T. Sindergtard. Litchfield. Minn., 98; Perry Har-jowe. Har-jowe. Har-jowe. Genoa, M; O. B Roes. Spencer. Iowa, Charles James. Seward, ill-. ill-. ill-. George Boi- Boi- Benberg. Lanark. 98: E. L. Brace?, Maynsrd, Iowa, W; Jason Morck. Story City. Iowa. 9V4; W Krux. Rosselle.IH.. 94, IX M. Richards. Well, Minn.. &H: Will Cleveland, Adeline. Ill, 94: H. H. Dryer, Woodvilie, Ohio. 95. Peter lllcre. Buflslo Center, Iowa. M: Knut Houge. Mclnlyre, Iowa. 94: S. Peterson. West Union, lows. 94; Edward Kramer, BalUe Creek. Mich , to; W. W. Fleming, Rocklord. III., 95; C. ChlUron, Lansing. Minn., to. T. C Jenson. Clark's Grove, lows, 96. E. P. Greely, Aldea, 'Iowa. 86. H. A. Jones. Newport. Minn , H: J. S. Weston, Jerico, Iowa. VS. H R. Gran beck. RadcliOe.loua, J. W. Segar. recalonica. LU , w; fc. fc. M4f-teason. M4f-teason. M4f-teason. ToklC. 111. 94; F. C Ollrofc-ge. Ollrofc-ge. Ollrofc-ge. Tripoli. Iowa. 98; H Koeneke. Tripoli, Iowa. 97H; Silas Hatloway, North Manchester. Ind., 964. A-Towers. A-Towers. A-Towers. A-Towers. New Hartford, Iowa. 83; F. Gehris. St Jam, Minn.. 854; Mr. Flemmiug. Riverside, 111. 95: E. J. Henry. Clayton, Minn . 85. In tbe gathered cream division E. S. Allen, of Clarion, Iowa, won tbe gold medal with 86 points, and Hans Faust of Glen wood, low a, the bronze medal, with 85 points. Winners ot Silver Medals. Tbe others scoring above 93 points and winners of silver medals are as follows: Edward Gever, Henderson, Neb.. 94; Bans Faust. Glenwood, Iowa. 95S; C M. Cog ley, New Albion. Iowa. 94: E. S. Kice. Dorchester, Iowa, 93; W.H. Baker. Davis, Iowa. 92. Ira Rima, Deco-rah. Deco-rah. Deco-rah. Iowa. 95: J M. Bibhy. Galesville, Wis.. M; K. Cleveland. Hesoer. Iowa. 9J4. S. P. Dresner. Dresner. Renwick. Iowa, 92; S I. Fasse. Ridgesray, Iowa. 94: H. C. Tibbitts. Maoderville, Minn.. 92: W. A. Carpenter. York. Neb . 95: John Moment Forest Cily. Iowa. 93S: P. A Kitey, Osaloo, Minn., 95; E S. Allen. Clarion. Iowa. 98.

Clipped from
  1. The Inter Ocean,
  2. 01 Mar 1895, Fri,
  3. Page 10

tom161 Member Photo
  • Medal Recipients

    tom161 – 04 May 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in