lividawn Member Photo

Clipped by lividawn

Deila.Joy.Kirkham.GraduationSpeaker - Board Members to Attend Graduation Rites...
Board Members to Attend Graduation Rites Tonight Three members of the Salt Lake City Board of Education will attend graduation ceremonies Thursday evening at each of the city's four public high schools. T. QUENTIN Cannon, board president, will be at South High, with Paul F. Royall and Warren FL Tyler. Waldo M. Andersen, vice president, with Mrs. Jerry Landa and Gordon B. Christensen, will be at Kingsbury Hall for the East High graduation. , Virgil H. Smith, past president; George C. Christensen and Wallace F. Toronto will attend Highland High ceremonies. At West, Wesley A. Sor- ensien, only board member with a personal interest in this year's graduation—his daughter will receive a diploma— will be accompanied by Glen S. Burt and S. Perry Lee. Highland and East will start their programs at 6:30 p.m. West will start at 7 p.m. and South will start at 7:3C p.m. AT CATHEDRAL of the Madeleine, 331 E. South Temple, "similar graduation ceremonies for seniors at Judge' Memorial High School will get under way at 8 p.m. Judge Memorial also will have baccalaureate services Thursday morning, with Mass to be celebrated in Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church, 7th South and llth East, by the Rev. James P. Kenny, su- perintendent of Catholic schools in the city and administrator at Judge. THE REV. Lawrence Calkins, OSM, Portland, Ore., will give the commencement dres in the Cathedral. At the public high school rites, students will fake the active parts. At East High participating students will Marion Hassell, Marcellus Snow, Joyce Pulsipher, Mary Chapman, Bill Bracey and Keith Poelman, speakers; Rick Wunderli, class president; Barbara Snyder, vice president; Jim Cannon and Steve Wood. Alternate Is Nina Mugleston. ON THE PROGRAM Highland High are Mary Lyrme Ivlarsh, Michael Soulier Dixie Clegg, Donald Yacktman, Kay Hayes, speakers; Sterling Francom, senior president; Paul Engeman, student presi- dentelect; Barbara Huber, Michael McLatchy and Sharon Young. Alternates are JoAnne Lacey and Ralph Nielsen. Taking part at South will be Janet Mather, Karen Hurst, Pamela Yates, Lowrie Anderson, Ann Scoville, Judy McDevitt, Lis Larsen, Maxine Anderson, Dave Robertson, Andrew Jackson, Richard Borstadt, Ferrell Christensen and Terry Chatwin. ' West has chosen six speakers. They are Kent Gardner, Mark Willes, Peggy Bowman, Deila Joy Marsh, Irene Myers and Douglas Condie.

Clipped from
  1. The Salt Lake Tribune,
  2. 04 Jun 1959, Thu,
  3. Page 43

lividawn Member Photo
  • Deila.Joy.Kirkham.GraduationSpeaker

    lividawn – 15 Sep 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in