Brooklyn Daily Eagle 24 Sept 1852 - 8th Ward delegate Dem Party Convention - big fracas

leslie659 Member Photo

Clipped by leslie659

Brooklyn Daily Eagle 24 Sept 1852 - 8th Ward delegate Dem Party Convention - big fracas - FRIDAY EV12WSN, SRPT Democratic Kepublican...
FRIDAY EV12WSN, SRPT Democratic Kepublican dominations. - o - x c w - aumfflM . For Vice President, WIJLL.lA9I:R;t?lTS KINK. or ALABAMA. &r - iflMum iit Horatio Soymonr, " . for iietitenant Goremor Sanford S. Church, JRir Cmio commissioner Frederick Follett, Jbr State Prison iutptcur Darius Clark. Tlie 'rimary Klcclicits. The elections for delegates to the various nominating conventions took place last evening, and we regret to say, were attended in several of the Wards with very disgraceful scenes. In the second the polls were densely surrounded by a noisy, disorderly mob, and a large number of persons who desired to vote were unable to do so. In the 3d, 6th, 6th, 7th, and 11th, the contest was very sharp and animated, but we do not learn that there were any irregularities by which the election is prejudiced. In the 10th as in the 2nd, the poll was taken possession ot by a party who favored one or more of the rival candidates, and so completely hedged it in that all voting was suspended, although there were a a hundred men or more who stood ready with their ballots, and only watted an opportunity to put them in the box. This party, having rushed all their own tickets into the box demanded, at half past seven, that the poll should be closed; and on being told thatit could not be closed till the hour fixed by the general committee, they broke violently into the inclosure ; seized tho ballot box and carried it off, as Sampson carried off the gates of Gaza; took it to the engine house, and after placing it in the. engine, dragged out the machine and paraded with it ihruugh the streets. The inspectors of course refused to canvass the votes, and we suppose that the ward committee will order a new election. We present below a list of the delegates to the various conventions as declared by the inspectors. It seems to begenerally conceded that the city delegation is in favor of Mr.' Lambert for Mayor, and the Congressional delegation of Mr.Sloan for Congress. rinsr ward. Congress John Miley, Patrick McCue, John Jordan, Michael Phelan. County James H. Howe, John Cavannagh, J. Van Anden, Michael Flanagan. City George Sweeney, James Cane, John Hinchv John Farren. Assembly - John Farrell, Henry O'Neil, John Bon - nar, George L. Thatcher. Police District John Doherty ter McGuire, John Jleighen. James Clark, Pe - stcoxD ward. CongressMat. Hart, Jr., Wm Kerrigan, James M,cLaughlin. Mullen, Bernard uumy james jjoriertv. Kobert nL - P Ioo i t r - v . Webb, John Shearon. City John Herron, John R. Robertson, Hamil - ion jjonelly, Jolin Falkner. Assembly FAv, - nr Pell, Bernard McLaughlin, John Brown, Owen Dougherty. f - olice District Jno. Donelly, James McGinness, nm. Lynch, John Denin. ' TH1ED WARD. waTi'ifrCoTJalneS 1Je"' Dan'el Chal,nce'. A - Oorn - county Charles J. Lowry, S. Sloan, Simeon Bwtef - '4' Cooke Hul1' James Bo11' 6 - Searine - a. Cut"? lsfo7hiliP Smidlh' G - Searing. Alex. Mc Police .srcf - Alex. McCue, D. Colgan, A. Butler, C. Demarest. FOURTH Congress Robert B. Clark, John H. Funic, Daniel H. Robbins, W.m, S. Leach. County - John G. Staff; George L. King, Alfred Loyd, Wm. S. Leach. .Ci'y - iirred G - Stevens, Barnabits H. Booth, Wm. H. Powell. F. A. Reitz. Assembly Aeher Smith. John M. Cornwell, Ga - malielkKing Robert McCormack. Police District John Angus, Joseph Hegeman, Thomas S. Day, Noyes A. Parsons. FIFTH VABI). Congress James Kerrigan, James Dovelin, Pat'k. Green, Charles Brown. County John Bellingham, John Winters, George G. Ackerly, Charles Brown. City E H. Rogers, Thomas Green, Peter McCaffrey, John Dunn. Assembly - John McLaughlin, John C. F. Carshaw, Wm. Webb, M. Montgomery. Police District John Downey, John Wallace. B. J. McEntee, John Winters. SIXTH WABD. Congress John Rice, Geo. Remsen, Andrew Brady, John P. Allison. County - Charles O'Niel, John Sweeney, John Holland, Charles Sturcke. CtoSeTofef gSo'' Cot""' NM' Jtlnney, Patrick McMahon. SEVEKTH WARD. Congress Martin Evans, James Freil, John Bloom, Michael McDonald. County Casper Urben, Stephen Crowell, John P. Mead, John Fitzsimons. City Coe D. Jackson, Cornelius Nostrand, Thos. Fitssimone, Edward Rowe. Assembly - - Philip Dougherty, John Campbell, Wm. Waters, G. W. Bleecker. Police District Thomas Fitzsimons, Edward Rowe, Stephen Baldwin, Coe D. Jackson. EIGHTH WARD. Congress Peter Wyckoff Joseph Wilson, James Sharkey, J. H. Sloan. County James Dillon, Peter Wyckoff; James Sharkey, Wm. McArdle. Cay Joseph Wilson, Peter WyckofT, Tunis S. Barkuloo, James Sharkey. Assembly Zebulon R. Combs, Win. Ward, Wm. H. Tandy, Wm. P. Williams. NINTH WARD. Cnf r - Michael Egan, Joseph Oliver, Edward Lynch, Christopher Reynolds. County John McCalvey, Patrick Cloonari, Gre - i ry Keenan, Michael Gangheau. " Assembly Matthew Keenan, George Smith Andrew Brady, Hugh Harley. Cy - James McCalvey, Wm. Meighan, John P. H - gan, Charles Augustus. ELEVENTH WABD. Congress David Webb, Michael McLaughlin, Felix Campbell, Lewis Berry. County Wm. H. Sharp, Hiram Wilson, John nuinojer, jrairtCK campoeu. City David Davis, Terrence Riley. James Boyle, John Lawrence. ,A?Sl5(l'Henry Harteau, Wm. Burrill, Michael milium, rem j remote. Police District Charles Wilson, John Bseklep James Ratigan, Charles Hooper.

Clipped from
  1. The Brooklyn Daily Eagle,
  2. 24 Sep 1852, Fri,
  3. Page 2

leslie659 Member Photo
  • Brooklyn Daily Eagle 24 Sept 1852 - 8th Ward delegate Dem Party Convention - big fracas

    leslie659 – 14 Mar 2014

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in