Henry Douthitt Feb 12, 1925

tread40 Member Photo

Clipped by tread40

Henry Douthitt  Feb 12, 1925 - POLITICS RULES APPOINTMENTS Judge Canady Says...
POLITICS RULES APPOINTMENTS Judge Canady Says Large Petitions Were Ignored When Republicans Wanted Job. The Cwunty Court had up the appointment of road overseers on "Tuesday and it appears from the record that when they got through naming the 25, 19 of them were Republicans and only six Democrats. Also it appears that in the six districts where Democrats were appointed, there was no other applicant in most cases and the court had to name the Democrat. Judge Canady, the only Democrat on the court, soon found that his vote didn't count for anything as the twj Republican judges had already xle- cided on their • choice and voted gether in all cases but two. In the 9th district. E. M. Wolfebarger, Democrat, was elected by the votes of Canady and -Cornish, Blankenshlp voting for Lawton -Lawson. In the S19th district, John Heman was «lect- e\| by-ttte votes of Canady and Cor- nlih while Blankenshlp voted for L. A. "Davidson. Both these applicants are said,-to be Republicans.' There were two applicants with petitions for . overseer in district No. 6, Jim Moffett and Will Kruse. Moffett had seven names on his petition while Kruse had 35. Judge Canady voted for Kruse but Moffett was elected overseer. In Canady's own road district, No. 25, there were two applicants, O. H: Beavers, Republican, with 3 1 "names on his petition, and Henry Douthitt, Democrat, with 67 names on his petition. Of course Judge Canady thought he ought to be allowed to name the. overseer In his own district, particularly since he had the largest petition, but Cornish and Blankenshlp both, voted for Beavers. Then Judge Canady "blew up" as the saying goes and told the other judges that_ **»» tr—petitions were being Ignored and he was not allowed a voice in the' appointments he would withdraw and let .them finish the job, so he left the court room. There were only ^wo more overseers to elect. The six Democrats elected are E. M. Wolfenbarger, W. AT Morgan. E. F. Branham, R. F. Hubbard, G. M. Mullens and T. O. Troy. There is some doubt'about the politics of two or three others as they do not always vote the same ticket. Following is the vote by road districts: District No. 1. John Miracle appointed, by votes of Cornish and Canady. Blankenship voted for Fred Killlon. District No. 2." Elmer Harris appointed. Canady voted for Mr. Garr ren. . ... _-. — District No. 3. I. M. Wolfe received all three votes; - -|; , District No. 4. C. H. Babb appointed. Cartady voted for Mr. Graham. District No. 5. M. E. Branick got three votes. District No. 6. Jim Moffett got two votes, Canady-voting for Will Kruse. District No. 8. J. C. Crabtree got three votes. ., District-No. 9. E.-M. Wolfenbarger elected by votes of Cornish and Canady. Blanlsenshlp voted for Lawton Lawson. • District No. 10. A. H. Tanner got two., votes, Canady voting House. •' for E. Pistrict No. 12. M. F. Melton got two votes, Canady vollng for R. L. Craig. ' ' District Na 13. Guy Oilman elected with no opposition. District No; 14; W. A. Morgan elected without opposition. District No. 15. JE. F. Branham elected without opposition. Pistrict No. 16._J, E. Cullum elected without opposition^" -District No. 17, G. M, Mullens elected without opposition. District No. 18.' R. F. Hubbard elected by two ^votes. Canady voting for John . Reece. Both ^applicants Democrats. District No. 19. John Heman elect- id by Canady and Cp'rnish, Blankenship voting tor L. A. Davidson. District No. 20, Oreh Miller, three votes. . .,,. • District No. 21. R,' Bf. White, nO opposition: , >..",^ .-.v^ • ,' '•' ..; •..-,•' -'• District No. 22. E.' G. Henry, no "opposition. District No. 23. C. W. Alston, no opposition. . j'-. '•"• District No. 24. T. O. Troy/no opposition. District No. 25. O. A. Beavers. 2anady .^voting for Henry Douthitt. District No.-'80. Walter •leoted x by Cornish and Bl&nkenBhip. District No. 27. Hi A. Leathers; elected by Cornish and Blankenshlp; The'March term of court will be- jin March 8 -and on March 4 all' road overseers are to hold, their annual meeting: in Neosho. , The court appointed 0. A. Morseman of Saginaw its a 'member of the Joplin special road district which extends in$o Newton county. . The levy of $3.60 poll tax ' -}

Clipped from
  1. The Neosho Times,
  2. 12 Feb 1925, Thu,
  3. Page 1

tread40 Member Photo
  • Henry Douthitt Feb 12, 1925

    tread40 – 05 Apr 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in