Fenstermacher Mayflower Society

tmrbookit Member Photo

Clipped by tmrbookit

Fenstermacher Mayflower Society - MAYFLOWER DESCENDANTS. A committee to...
MAYFLOWER DESCENDANTS. A committee to investigate a "Pueblo." a style of Indian architecture, aid to be in existence in Scott county, was appolnted-'by"" Mix A. H. "Bennett, president of the Kansas Society of Mayflower Descendants, at the annual business meeting held in Topeka yesterday. When the commute has investigated conditions the society may decide to take steps toward the preservation (of the landmark. An elaborate dinner was served at the Pelletler tea room last night, prior to the business and social meeting. Mrs. Bennett presided. The toastmaster was Mr. M. L. Alden. of Kansas City. Responses were made by Mrs. Jfihn R. Shelton on "The Betterment of Our Society;" "Work to be Done," by Mr. W. E. Connelley; "Wopft of the Society," by Mrs. A. L. Wilcox, of Abilene; "Memberships," by Mrs. David Hill, of Salina. Music was furnished during the evening by Miss Dorothy Leeper, Miss Helen Leeper and Miss Gertrude liuckle. The good ship "Mayflower" stood on a glass plateau surrounded by , rocks. The place cards were Puritan men and women. The tables were decorated with hoop handle baskets filled with pink roses, chrysanthemums, swtet peas and ferns. Mrs. II. A. Perry, of Topeka, was in charge of the dinner arrangements. Special guests were Mr. and Mrs. Connelley and Miss Clara Francis. The Mayflower Descendants will hold a semi-annual meeting. May 1, in Wichita, in response to an invitation extended by Mrs. I G. MacGregor. The by-laws provide for the annual meetings to be held in Topeka. The feature of the afternoon meeting was the presentation of a bronze tablet bearing the names of the charter members and their Mayflower ancestors from the Kansas Society of Mayflower Descendants to the Kansas State Historical society. The tablet was placed In the library at the Me-1 mortal building. Before the sf-rvices1 and during the presentation speech' made by Mr. Alden the tablet was. veiled with an American flag from Vermont. The same flag had been used on eighteen occasions previously for similar functions. The tablet was unveiled by Mrs. F. A. George, of Wichita. Mr. Connelley, secretary of the Kansas State Historical society, made the address of acceptance. The names on the tablet were Mrs. Arthur Henry Bennett, Topeka; Caro lyn Macomber Bennet, Holton; Rachel' Victoria Bennet, Holton; Lallie B. Brownell, Lawrence; Susan Burtch, Hutchinson; Kate Bennet De Graff, .Manhattan; Clara Huntington Dods, Kansas City, Kan.; Sadie Damon George, Wichita; Edwards Allen Hiller, Salina; Ralph Aldis Hiller, Norton; Edwin Mortimer Hopkins, Lawrence; Albert Todd Hyde, Wichita; Helen Scott Johnson, Lawrence; Clara B. Eddy McGuire, Topeka; Lenora Gove MacGregor. Wichita; Elizabeth Hoyt Purcell, Manhattan; Annie Bryant Scott, Topeka; George. Handy Shelton, Topeka; Harriet Handy Shelton, ' Topeka; Mary Newcomb Stratford. Wichita; Alfred Emery Van Petten, Topeka; Minnie Walker Wilcox, Abilene. The new members since the charter roll are are Mrs. Alfred Segar Ambler, Topeka; Maurice LeRoy Alden, Kansas City; Merrltt Masters Sherman, Crawford; Carl Sherman, Crawford; Elizabeth Lapham Sherman, Crawford; Isaac Brewster Morgan, Kansas City; Pauline Gardner Paddock, Iola; Charles Henry Fenstermacher, Tulsa, Okla.; Mrs. David . Hill, Salina; Reba Leone Damon, Wichita; Mrs. Samuel Hanlin, Newton; Miss Anabel Paddock, Iola, and Mrs. T. H. Chalkey, Lawrence. Mr. Alden addressed the members yesterday afternoon, telling of the formation of the organization. The society was founded In Topeka on November 21, 1914. The originators were Mr. Bennett and Mrs. Edward MacGregor. The society now has thirty-hIx members. Twenty-two members have their names on the bronze tablet. There were 102 passengers in the Mayflower from England. So far there are ten Mayflower pilgrims represented by ancestry In the Kansas society. The officers are: Mr. Bennett, governor;. Mrs. John R. Shelton, vice governor; Mrs. L. G. MacGregor, Wichita, secretary; Mrs. William H. Johnson, Lawrence, treasurer, and Mrs. E. M. Hopkins, Lawrence, historian. on ' as the Mr. of

Clipped from
  1. The Topeka Daily Capital,
  2. 22 Nov 1916, Wed,
  3. Page 6

tmrbookit Member Photo
  • Fenstermacher Mayflower Society

    tmrbookit – 29 May 2015

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in