Dartmouth College history

Dartmouth College history - AMfR/CANA College Notebook Dartmouth College...
AMfR/CANA College Notebook Dartmouth College Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire, evolved from the /ision and forliludes of the Reverend Eleazer Wheelock, who pushed nio liio wilitcriiess of Sew Hampshire in 1770 and erected a single log lul as the home of Dartmouth College which had been established by royal charter m the preceding year "for the education and instruction 3f Youth of the Intjian Trit)fs in this Land in reading, writing and all parts of Learning which .shall appear necessary and expedient for Livilizins and christianizing Children of Pagans as well as in all liberal Arts and Sciences; and also of English Youth and any others." terms are separated by a Christmas Christmas vacation; winter and spring terms separated by a spring vaca- The yourn? Collcjje found that Indian youih.s were not so in- lerestfd in Chri.stian education as .hey were in the old tribal ways, and it early began its metamorphosis metamorphosis into an institution for the education of young colonials. The modem era of the College began in 1893, with inauguration •f Dr. William Jewett Tucker as president. Immediate growth took place in student enrollment, leaching staff, buildings, and endowments. endowments. The first Dartmouth Night, now a world-wide celebration celebration by Dartmouth men each year, was held in 1895. Dartmouth College has a current current enrollment of 2982 under- gradiutes and 322 graduate fto- 4ffitf. HM figdlsLr undergraduate couTM at Dartmouth leads to the Saehdor ef Arts degree. Dart- BiODth follows a three-term sehed- ale, with terms approximately ten jiMb in leogtliu Fitt Md Winter tion. The programs of Dartmouth's Dartmouth's Medical School, Thayer School of Engineering and Tuck School of Business Administration. Administration. Famous Dartmouth alumni have included Daniel Webster, U.S. Senator and Secretary of State, Class of 1801; Sylvanus Thayer, 1807, first Superintendent of the U.S. Military Academy; George Tichnor, 1807, American literary scholar; Salmon P. Chase, 1828, Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court and Lincoln's Secretary of the Treasury; Robert Frost, 1886, poet; Basil O'Connor, 1912, Prwi- dent of the National Fonndatioo; Albert Bradley, ms, formtf Chairman ot the Board of General Motors Corporation; James V. Forrestal, 1915, former Secretary of Defease.

Clipped from
  1. Checotah Democrat,
  2. 21 Dec 1961, Thu,
  3. Page 24

AndreaJewellWinstead Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in