The Salina Journal from Salina, Kansas on April 23, 2001 · Page 23
Get access to this page with a Free Trial

The Salina Journal from Salina, Kansas · Page 23

Salina, Kansas
Issue Date:
Monday, April 23, 2001
Page 23
Start Free Trial

4 MONDAY, APRIL 23, 2001 THE SALINA JOURNAL AT SCHOOL FROM PAGE 3 graph titled "Mama's Pitcher." She also has on display another photography piece, "Grapes on Wine." Morse, a senior, received the Best of Photography Award for her piece, "Stark Wild." She also has on display her painting, "Dream Dancing," and her photograph, "Palm Relief." Harris has a drawing called "Feet" on display. The exhibition, which included art by 23 students, was displayed through April 17. The two jurors for the exhibition were Tanya Hartman and Daniel Hunt. Hartman, assistant professor of art, teaches painting and drawing at the University of Kansas. Hunt, assistant professor of art, teaches sculpture at Kansas State University- Manhattan. ^ m m BETHANY COLLEGE: Bethany College senior Trenda McEnroe, Kingman, will have her art exhibition through Wednesday at the Mingenback Art Center. McEnroe is the daughter of Stanley McEnroe, Kingman, and Diana Geiger, Hurst, Texas. McEnroe is a painting concentrator focusing on the figure, and her emphasis is in oil painting. Trenda is a 1997 graduate from Kingman High School and will graduate from Bethany College this May with a bachelor's degree in art. Her future plans are to go to graduate school, but next year she will be traveling to Europe. She will be a volunteer for a service program based in the United Kingdom called A Time for God. CLOUD COUNTY: The 2001 edition of "Who's Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges" will include the names of 25 students from Cloud County Community College who have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders. Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of these students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. They join an elite group of students from more than 1,400 institutions of higher learning in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and several foreign nations. Students named this year from Cloud County Community College: Abilene: Patricia Velasquez. Augusta: Landon Riggs. Aurora: Brent Cummins. Bennington: Kelly Chance. Clay Center: Suzanne Bartley and Apryl Siebold. Junction City: Gary Parker, Stefanie Jones, Monica Boyd-Brown, Lisa Eldridge, Rebecca Lentz, Cathy Hume and Monique James. Concordia: Josh Ballard, Josh Smith and Lindsay Pounds. Courtland: Travis Stearns. Mahaska: Carol Duey. Manhattan: Gareth Hampton. Osborne: Josh Eilert. WaKeeney: Amy Hladek. Wamego: Alan Armstead. Wichita: Isaac Farha. Smyrna, Ga.: Lamin Ja- bang. Juniata, Neb.: Jessica Hoselton. • • • EMPORIA STATE: Ryan Trahan, Bennington, a student at Emporia State University, was one of 15 undergraduate students in the United States who were invited to participate in The Design of Economic Institutions workshop sponsored by the University of Arizona and the Earhart Foundation. In March, Trahan was one of two undergraduate students invited to attend Austrian Scholars Conference 7, an international economics conference sponsored by the Ludwig von Mises Institute of Auburn, Ala. The institute is the research and educational center of classical liberalism and the Austrian School of eco­ nomics. It is named in honor of the life and work of Ludwig von Mises. During the conference March 30-31 in Auburn, Trahan heard such noted scholars as George Reisman, Chandran Kukathas, Tom Bethell and David Gordon. » # # EMPORIA STATE: Ninety-three Emporia State University students from Kansas were initiated into Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society during the chapter's annual banquet March 26. They include Michael Newton and Andrew Spilman, both of McPherson, and Aaron Robben, Salina. Phi Eta Sigma is a society for students who earn at least a 3.5 grade-point average in the first or second semester of their freshman year. The organization promotes scholarship and reward students for their achievement their first year. • • • KANSAS STATE: Kurt Sundgren, Salina, has been awarded a $1,250 Kice Scholarship for the 2000-2001 academic year. The award recognizes the scholastic accomplishments of milling science students. Sundgren is a junior majoring in milling science management. # « 0 KANSAS STATE: The students at Kansas State University-Salina recently elected representatives to the K- State-Salina Student Governing Association. They will serve as members of the K- State-Ssdina Student Governing Association for the 20012002 school year. Students elected: Bryan Hennin, Andover, sophomore in technology management, elected student senate chaiij-man. Bill Ramsey, Bushton, freshman in computer sci- - - - - r ;!..riwM '»*'"?N For B ItmHsd tinw at partclpatlng DO® BfaztonS itores. «regi*tared tradiKnaftci o( Am. DO. Corp. O Am,. D,Q. Corp. 2001. Proud Sponsor of the Children's Miracle Network DAIRY QUEEN BRAZIER SOUfH ence technology, elected senator. Brandon Neff, Emporia, freshman in aeronautical technology option of aviation maintenance, elected senator. Matt Buhrle, Great Bend, freshman in aeronautical technology option of professional pilot, elected senator. Dustin Osburn, Hutchinson, freshman in aeronautical technology option of professional pilot, elected senator. Daniel Hewes, Ingalls, freshman in aeronautical technology, elected senator. Kasper Lechtenberg, Leoti, freshman in electronic engineering technology, elected senator. Adam Staggenborg, Marysville, sophomore in computer science technology, elected senator. Mike Higley, Mayetta, sophomore in computer information systems technology, re-elected Student Governing Association president. Adam Schneider, Olmitz, freshman in electronic engineering technology, elected senator. Diane Haynes, Salina, freshman in mechanical engineering technology, elected senator. Russell Knox, Salina, freshman in civil engineering technology, elected senator. Nick Sulzen, Shawnee, sophomore in computer science technology, elected vice president. Andrea Ziegler, Solomon, sophomore in computer information systems technology, elected senator. Jeremy Millard, WaKeeney, sophomore in mechanical engineering technology, elected senator. Lynsey Burnett, Cowdrey, Colo., freshman in aeronautical technology option of professional pilot, elected senator. 0 # # KANSAS STATE: Sali- nans Erica Guries, senior in marketing and international business, and Shelly Laubhan, senior in human ecology and mass communications, have been inducted into Blue Key, a senior leadership honorary for the 20012002 school year. CONTINUED ON PAGE 5 Personalized Service PAT PUTZIER Owner, Audiologist PHAC PROFESSIONAL HEARING AID CENTER 1103-A W. Crawford / Salina 827-3849 /1-800-536-3849 For years, ternutes have gone after your home. Isn't it time your went after theirs? Now you can get subterranean termites where they live The Sentricon™ Termite Colony Elimination System completely eliminates the termite colony with a unique monitoring and baiting technique. Plus, Sentricon continues to monitor against new colonies so your home remains secure. Call us today about the Sentricon System, and stop termites from eating you out of house and home. Complete Insect & Rodent Control SCHENDEL PEST CONTROL "Serving North Central Kansas For Over 50 Years" O Sentricon" Colonjf FJiiniHMtion syiiem Headed by a Graduate Biologist Monthly or One-Tlme 109 w. Fifth • Concordia, Ks Service for Home or Business 1-800-748-8184 / 785-243-2554

What members have found on this page

Get access to

  • The largest online newspaper archive
  • 11,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s
  • Millions of additional pages added every month

Try it free