The Hutchinson News from Hutchinson, Kansas on October 1, 1971 · Page 79
Get access to this page with a Free Trial

The Hutchinson News from Hutchinson, Kansas · Page 79

Hutchinson, Kansas
Issue Date:
Friday, October 1, 1971
Page 79
Start Free Trial

Area Coeds Up For KSU Queen Two Hutchinson area coeds are among five finalists competing for the title of 1971 football homecoming quean at Kansas State University, Manhattan. Five girls were chosen Sunday following skits presented by each candidate's sponsoring group in Forun Hall, in the K-State Student Union. The five finalists and the groups they represent arc: Linda Henry, Smurthwaitc, Lccompton; Rosemary Moon, CHEERING Burrton High School's Chargers on to victory during the 1971 football season arc these eight pretty misses. Last summer the girls attended a cheerleading camp where they learned new cheers and won a prize spirit stick. From left are, top row, Nancy Blew, Nancy. Collins; center, Ginger Pcnncr, Becky Pcnncr, Sandy Miller, Jan McCurry, Kathy Stone; and in front, Mary Considinc. Select 42 Dragon Dolls Forty-two Hutchinson Community College women were selected as members of the 197172 Dragon Dolls drill team following tryouts. First appearance of the Dragon Dolls is slated for half-time of the Independence - Hutchinson football game here Oct. 29. The Dolls are also scheduled to appear at half-time of the Mid America Bowl here Nov. 27. Student managers for the girls' drill team are Judie Nichols, Sublette, and Carole Smuck,. Omaha, Neb. Choreographer is Mrs. Bonnie Neville, 4 Pawnee. Community sponsor is Mrs. John R. Kline, Willowbrook, and faculty sponsor is Ruby Munzer, HCC women's physical education instructor. Thirteen HCC coeds on the drill team are second year members. They are: Bobbie Clemons, Moundridge; Patsy Dungan, Cedar Rapids, la.; Claudia Durfee, Ness City; Vickie Ebel, Hillsboro; Diana Young, Lam­ ed; and Glenda Conner, Gina Glynn, Cynthia Hatcher, Kay Clark Lyman, Linda Matous. Kay Sanders, Jan Wade, and Wilma Winlersteen. The 29 first year members are: Jan:l Clugston, Pittsburg; Dona Dinkier, Brookville; Vicki Dunkel, Abilene; Quenana Hefner, Teresa Hessman, Sublette; Jennifer Huffman, Moundridge; Jacquc McBridc, Nickerson; Mary aJne Meyers, Larned; Mary Jane Meyers, Larned; Debbie Presley, Salina; Bonnie Stegman, Lyons; Diane Slewart, Kathy Soft, Haven; Connie Tucker, Elkhart; Joy North, Paul Wasinger, Ness City; Connie Willians, Protection; Jackie Rupp, Carolee Wilson, Hays; Linda Wittorff, Inman; Cynthia Wilcox, and E'Vetle Zeillow, McPherson. First year members from Hutchinson are: Elizabeth Grecnert, Cheryl Hatcher, Kathy Haverty, Kay Kruger, Debbie Kurfiss, Elaine Morgan, Sally Oliver, and Bobbie Wooldridge. G03 Rustic Road. Rosemary Moon Delta Sigma Thcta, Hu^oton; Patricia Papon, Putnam Hall, Fredonia; Terry Voboril, Clovia, Esbon; and Vicki Lane, Kappa Kappa Gamma, McPherson. The four minute skits, designed to introduce the candidates to the audience, climaxed a weak of interviews and meetings in which a panel of judges chose the candidates on the basis of poise, personality, beauty, activities, and scholarship. The homecoming queen will be selected from the five finalists in an all-university election to be held Oct. 5 and 6. This is the only K-State queen elected by popular vote of the student body. She will preside over all events connected with Homecoming Week. Head football coach Vince Gibson will crown the queen at noon, Oct. 11, on the steps of Seaton Hall. Blue Key, senior men's scholastic honorary, is in charge of all homecoming week activities. Theme for this year's homecoming is "Purple Power Reigns Supreme." Other homecoming weekend attractions include the KSU-Iowa State football game at 1:30 p.m., Oct. 16, and the Mason-Proffitt concert at 8 that evening. uco arvey DODGE CITY - "Harvey," a comedy in three acts, has been selected as the fall production by the Dodge City Community College drama department. The play will be given on Oct. 5, 7, and 8, beginning each evening at 8 p.m. "Harvey" is the story of Elwood Dowd, a genial middle- aged man who has left the world of reality in order to live in his own world with an imag­ inary six-foot rabbit. I lis family is determined to rid him of his rabbit companion, but he calmly tries to convince them that nearly everyone can sea his "Pooka" friend Harvey. The conflict developing from the family's determination to bring him back to reality forms the basis for a warm and humorous drama. Melson Mcarty, Kingsdnwn, plays Elwood P. Dowd. the man with the six-foot rabbit as a companion. Other members of the family include Lura Lund, Ensign; Derise Bryant, Ensign; and Lorna Davis, Gnddard. The two psychiatrists, Dr. Chumbley and Dr. Sanderson, are played by Dennis Herman, Dodge City, and Bruce Torline, Ford. Other members of the cast are: Julie Young, Dodge City; Georgie Rynerson, Jet more; Dave Brumbaugh, Spearvillc; Jim Ramirez, Ark City; Mark Slre- mel, and Billy Viers, 'Dodge City. HARVEY was the Pulitzer Prize winning play of 1945. This play enjoyed a run of over 300 performances and was later made into a successful movie with Jimmie Stewart. Counselor New Face At Buhler By JEAN HEIN Buhler High School BUHLER — Working mainljl with the freshmen and workindj under the Title 1 program, Bon nie Todd will serve as a second guidance counselor at Buhlci' High School. She will also assist Eddie Gcr- lach, Buhler High counselor. Originally from Vandalia, Mo Miss Todd taught junior Englisl for two years in Illinois and wat a junior high counselor in Mis souri. She received her BS and M.. degrees from Missouri Stale College in Kirksville. She says she likes her job very 1 much "so far" and thinks the teachers and students arc friend-' Area Youths •I STUDENT COMMISSION members for 1971-72 at Hutchinson Community College are: front row (from left) RoMe Carpenter, 1203 East 17th; Jan Wade, 1107 North Hendricks; Debbie Kay Smith, 804 West 17th; and Chris Graber, Pretty Prairie; Back row: Stan Singleton, 5826 Cactus; Gary Ashcraft, McPherson; Tyrone Pryor, Cleveland, Ohio; Larry Swain, 401 East 15th; and Kirk Woodard, 712 West 19th. In Semi Four Southwest Kansans are! included in an environmental chemistry seminar of 15 under -i graduates at the University of' Kansas, Lawrence. They are Terry L. Blanch ard, Ulysses; James D. Colyer, Mays; Charles W. Ragland Newton; and Alan G. Kerschen, Kingman. The group will develop a storehouse of scientific and technical data on current pol-t lution problems and work on ways of communicating the information to laymen. The seminar approach to pol-j lution is appropriate because environmental chemistry is a relatively new field, said Peter M Hierl, instructor. Much of| Ihe course material will come from studies and discoveries made in the last year or two.

What members have found on this page

Get access to

  • The largest online newspaper archive
  • 11,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s
  • Millions of additional pages added every month

Try it free