The Salina Journal from Salina, Kansas on April 9, 2001 · Page 21
Get access to this page with a Free Trial

The Salina Journal from Salina, Kansas · Page 21

Salina, Kansas
Issue Date:
Monday, April 9, 2001
Page 21
Start Free Trial

THE SALINA JOURNAL MONDAY, APRIL 9. 2001 3 AT SCHOOL FROM PAGE 2 cording to principal David Stueve. He is a hard worker in class and takes great effort in completing his assignments and is a positive person and is kind and courteous to students and staff, Stueve added. WHO'S WHO: The 2001 edition of "Who's Who Among Student in American Junior Colleges" will include the names of 12 students from The Brown Mackie College who have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders. They are Amy Clark, Elliott Baker, Melinda Briscoe, Eva Hawks, Lisa Hamel, Brittany Loony, Lindsay Minns, Lisa Mayer, Jamie Santos, Diana Smith, Stacy Schrag and Lisa Russell. Campus nomination committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of these students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success. PRUDENTIAL AWARD: Amanda Rush, McPherson, a member of the McPherson County 4 -H and a home- schooled student, was named a Distinguished Finalist in The 2001 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards. The presentation was March 31. Amanda raised more than $8,700 to purchase a robot to enhance the local fire department's fire safety curriculum for pre-school and elementary school students in her community. All public and private middle level and high schools in the country, and all Girl Scout councils and county 4- H organizations, were eligible to select a student or member for a local Prudential Spirit of Community Award this past November. Local honorees were then reviewed by state-level judges, who selected two state honorees in each state, plus a select number of finalists based on personal initiative, creativity, effort, impact and personal growth. NEBRASKA UNIVERSITY: Local and area students at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln recently were named High Scholars. They include Salinans Sarah Fox, Emily Hernandez, Nicole Knipp, Kellen Ratcliff and Abby Snavely; and Barbara Baker and Carol Matas, both of Abilene. High Scholars have cumulative grade-point averages of at least 3.6. TULSA UNIVERSITY: Alyssa Shriver, Salina, was named to the President's List honor roll at the University of Tulsa for fall 2000. Shriver earned a 4.0 grade- point average during the fall 2000 semester. She is a junior majoring in communications. Thank you to Marlene for my party. Thank you everyone who sent cards, gifts and stopped to visit. Sincerely, Jeannie M. Roe AT WORK SALINE COUNTY: Two Saline County employees were honored recently for 10 years of service. Gregory Vidrine started working as a welder/mechanic A with the Public Works Department March 29, 1991, the same position he holds today. Susan Kopf, office clerk, started working in the treasurer's office March 4, 1991, as a clerk 1, and on April 15, 1991, was promoted to the position of office clerk in the Vehicle Registration Department. CALDWELL BANKER: Steve Ashton of Coldwell Banker, Antrim-Piper Wenger Realtors, 631 E. Crawford, recently attended the 2001 Coldwell Banker In- To my children and their spouses for the lovely 100th birthday party. Thank you also to those who sent cards, messages and visited. God Bless You All! Love, Rena Price ASHTON ternational Business Conference ift'l Tampa, Fla. During the' awards ceremony, Ashton received an award for placing in the top 10 in listings sold in the region, which includes an 18- state area. This is the first time an individual from the Salina office has won a regional award. DENTAL: Salina Dentist Lynn Wuthnow has recently completed post-graduate training at Las Vegas Institute for Advanced Dental Studies. Wuthnow trained in dental cosmetics and occlusion including completing a case on a live patient. Wuthnow is one of the few dentists in the country who has completed a program that teaches these skills. WILSON & CO.: Salina employees of Wilson & Company, Engineers & Architects, have been named to the company's associates program for 2001. They are principal associates Bruce Mortimer, Kenneth Hancock, Ryan Branfort and Troy Eisenbraum; senior associates Jeri Meyer, Jon Plumer and Mark Peterson; and office associates Todd Anderson, Craig Lofton, Timothy Miles, USD #240 to the voters of USD #240 m Re-electing Rick Bremerman for Position #4 on the school board. I Appreciate Your Support Many thanks to all of my family and friends who attended my birthday party Sunday. The flowers were beautiful and sincere thanks for all the cards, flowers, gifts and phone calls. They will never be forgotten. It was the biggest birthday party of a lifetime! Martha Tasker, David Youtsey Sr., Karia Waters, Douglas Mull, Wade Alejiiri^e^,-btoiel Budke and Ste ^J* :koberts. SALINA SCHOOL DISTRICT: Trula Harris, business teadh 'eri kt Salina Central High :Schpol, has been named Salina School District's Master Teacher for 2000-2001. ' Harris beg^n her career as a business teacher in the Salina district in 1970 and was chosen for the award by her colleagues in National Education Association in Salina. In addition to being recognized as Salina's Master Teacher, she was also Salina's nominee for the Kansas Master Teacher Award from Emporia State University. Harris is a past president of NEA -Saliija and has been a board rnember of Kansas NEA. She has also been a convention delegate J;Q the,National EducatipprAsspciation. She is a member I o| the Na]ti,onal Business Eduqajiipp Association, the. fIyIounjl;a^n^Pi^ins BEA, andjae Kansas |BEA. In addition, .,sn,e^ is, ^.' volunteer for the Apiejrican P3P9er Society's Kansas fiiivisioij.., Words cannot .express .my appreciation for. all, ,t)ie support and encoursgement during my redeat hospitalization. Thank you family and friends fof the prayers, cards, flowers, gifts, phone calls, visits and food. Your kindness means so much to me. A special thank you to my husband, sons and sister for their care and help. A sincere thanks to Drs. Seaton, Bellah and Braxton and all the health care workers associated with the heart program at Salina ^Regional Health Center. Karen Seyfert PRUDENTIAL REALTY: Emma Bixby of Prudential Broker's Realty has been named to The Prudential Real Estate Affiliates' Leading Edge Society for 2000. The award recognizes residential sales p.ypw professionals O 'XBY who are in the top six percent of Prudential agents nationwide. Bixby was recognized during special award ceremonies at The Prudential Real Estate Network's annual sales convention in Las Vegas in March. The three-day event was attended by more than 4,000 real estate professionals from the United States and Canada. Bixby entered the real estate field in 1997 and joined Broker's Realty, which last year joined the Prudential Real Estate Network. Prior to CONTINUED ON PAGE 4 The family of Loyd D. Farrington would like to express our deepest thanks to everyone who sent cards, food, flowers, memorial gifts, prayers, and to those who phoned or came by the house to express their sympathy to us with the passing of Loyd. He was a very special person who touched many lives. A wbnderful son, husband, dad, gramps and friend. He has left a very deep hole in our lives, and your kmdness helps us to heal. Thank you! The family of Loyd Farrington Lila Gomel LARRY MICHEL For USD 305 Board of Education All of your time, support & hard work are much appreciated.

What members have found on this page

Get access to

  • The largest online newspaper archive
  • 11,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s
  • Millions of additional pages added every month

Try it free