LGYC 14 Sept 1953

fizwiz Member Photo

Clipped by fizwiz

LGYC 14 Sept 1953 - Sailing Club Awards Trophies WALWORTH - The...
Sailing Club Awards Trophies WALWORTH - The annual presentation of seasonal sailing trophies took place Saturday night] at the Lake Geneva Yacht Club's trophy dinner held at Big Foot Country dub. Most important of the awards were the season's championship] which went to Don C Hairing in Class E, James K. Lund'in class D; Terry Leahy, class X, Wednesday series; John Anderson, class X, Saturday series; Peter Freytag, class C, Wednesday series, and Charles B. Goes, class C, Saturday series. Class A skippers ended up in a tie for both first and second honors. Tying for the championship were John F. Perrigo and William C. Grunow. Second place honors were won by Ernest C. Schmidt and Sylvester Beers. Placing-second and.third in class competitions were Tom Ferris and George H. Kiefer Jr., class E; Jane Ann Bidwell and John Leahy, class D; Harry Melges, Jr. and William H. Freytag Jr., class C, Wednesday series; Harry Melges Jr. and Jane Wiswell in class C, Saturday series;' John Anderson and Jean Kummer, class X Wednesday series;. Jack Thompson and] Terry Leahy in Class X Saturday series. Forty-six certificates were awarded to graduates of the Geneva Lake Sailing School, Inc., by James Wiswell, instructor. The following received certificates: Peter R. Sills, Gay H. Sills, Stev-| en H. Sills, Charles Eldredge, Hartley. C. Laycock HI, Frederick J. Clifford HI, J. Scot Clifford Jr., Catherine W. Clifford, Peter H. Edwards, John A, Eck, Roger J. Eck, Lawrence F. Stevens, i H. Eric Johnson, Mary Lou Baird, Janet] King, Sally A. Barteis, Marcia A. Davis, Vicky Lee Biggers, Barbara A. Jones, Dorothy A. Lattof, Susan M. Young, Meredith and Jill jMoorehead, Susan E. Beers, Thorn-] as M. Beers Jr., Donald J. Treis, Ronald A. Lonze, Carla .Harms, Sandra Warren, Barry Warren Suzette M. Cavedo, Nancy E. Strand, Margo H. Kruger, David Pearce, Robert Wagner, Herbert | W. Perry, William' K. Campbell, Thomas Courtney, Sandra , Eldredge, Marjory Eldredge, Diane Wagner, William R. Willard, Coryn Culhane, Barbara Moore, Bert A. Carlsen and Thomas L. Schmidt. The presentation-of trophies was made by Commodore Clarence W. Sills Jr., with the assistance. of Ernst C. Schmidt, Yacht Club secretary—treasurer.

Clipped from
  1. Janesville Daily Gazette,
  2. 14 Sep 1953, Mon,
  3. Page 8

fizwiz Member Photo
  • LGYC 14 Sept 1953

    fizwiz – 24 Aug 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in