Leo Lowenthal at Coney Island Purim Ball

martea100 Member Photo

Clipped by martea100

Leo Lowenthal at Coney Island Purim Ball - County Judge Fawcett Performs Like Service for...
County Judge Fawcett Performs Like Service for Coney Island Festival Queen. THREE THOUSAND WITNESSES Hebrew Association's Third Annual Social Affair a Thorough Success. The third annual Purlm ball of the Couey Island Hebrew Association took place last night in Stauch's Coney Island. Nearly 3.000 persons were present and the arrangements bore the marks of lav- ishness peculiar to the Purlm ball both as to dress and decorations. The king. David Schwartz, was crowned by Lewis II. Pounds, Commissioner of Public Works and coronation master. The iueen, Fanny Wolf, one of Coney Island's c-clles, was crowned by County Judge L. L. Fawcett, assistant coronation master. The coronation ceremony took place at 10 o'clock promptly, as planned. Several times the volumes of applause delayed tne performance for King David und Queen Fanny are dear to the hearts of Coney Islanders. During the coronation spot light beams of different colors wore thrown on the royal couple on their throne, directly under a large lllumtnat-:d American Hag. Beside tjueen Fanny stood Miss Lillian Mandelbaum of Hath Beach, the princess, second only to the qu.-en In popularity. On the other side. beside King David, stood the prince, George Schultzer. Tho grand march began at 12 midnight. In the lead was the royal twain followed in order of rank by officers of the Coney Island Hebrew Association. Half an hour later the march was turned into a waltz. There were many novet coBtttmes. The officers of the association are: Charles Warshauser, president; Ike Jacobs, vice president; Max Aaron, recording secretary; Stanley Glass, Financial secretary; Alex. Kamenetsky, treasurer; Gesson Frank, sergeant-at-arms. Board of Directors Philip M. Bromberg. cnsirnian; .losepn I'arlstr. Dr. J. Heine, I. B. Ehrman, Mendel Dveese. Press Committee S. Gugsenhelm. chairman; Monroe Ehrman, J. B. Warshau-'r. l'olice Committee Barney Wolff; police commissioner; Sam Rosenthal, deputy commissioner; A. Elsman, captain; I. Ureenberg, Inspector; S. ReJmer, lecturer. Reception committee Alex. Kamenetsky, Nathan Koppel, Max Klepper, Charles 1.. Kojan, Jacob Kramer, Herman Kirsh, A. Kraus, Dr. Kalvln, Louis Kandres, Jacob Kun, K. Kojan, David J.ang. Abe Lent, Leo Lowenthal, Jacob I.eist. Sam Lent, M. Le-vltten, Isidore Marx, Sam Moskowitz, (Jus Marx, Jlax Mannawltz, Albert Marlash, Albert Man, William Marlash, Henry Marx, Louis N'euman, J. Manhaimer, Solomon Parlser Philip Parlser, Selig Parlser, Joseph Parlser, George Plaut, E. Prussack, E. Parker, Charles .osenbergT. William Plneker, Dr. Robinson. L. Relnelr, J Rlchman, I J. Rlchman, J. Rosenblatt, Jerome Rothschild, E. Rosenthal, A. Robinson, Louis Schwartz. B. Hlmonson, Louis Bchafrer. Charles HchlUman, Max achladofaky, Joseph Stanllaw, ,loe Selig. Max Slaten, Louis Ktark, F. Sllverstein, Isidore Simon, M. Susstnan, Ike Stlrer, S. Schoenberg, B. Sternberg, Isidore Simon, George c. Schnitzer. L. Tellelhaum, oe Vendig. Herman Wacke, William Wacke, Aaron Wolff, Barney Wolff, Morris Wolff. Floor committee Max Aaron, Charles Ahrams, Joseph Alttnan, Charles Adams. Charles BlootnftVld. Jerry Barnett. P. M. Bromberg. P. Brenner, Irvin Brill. Harry Rlatt, Charles Blankett, A. Bonomo, H-Brummel, J. Beck, K. Blrn, Al. Berman, Henry Brill, Aug. Berman, M. J, Dreese, J. Davis, H. Dorfner, A. Eisman, D. Ehrman, Monroe Fhrman, I. E. Ehrman, I. B. BhrmaJl, Julius Epstein. J. Epstein, J. Edelbaum. Gesson Prank I. l'leur, Emil Feldman, L. Feist, Morris Fisher, Harry Fox, Harry Pacher, Harry Flnfer, S. Giggenheim, Stanley Glass, J. Greenberg, Simpson Gruenwald, Sidney Gruen-wald, Meyer Gordon, Sam Gottlieb, Dr. Gtuenberg, F. Granat. Sam Goldman, A. S. Gatlltzka, J. Outtman, P. Geldman, L. Hall-hehner, Meyer Heyinan, Emil Heyman, Henry Heynian, Julius Haag, Dr. Heine, Martin Honiman, Jacob Hochman, Victor A. Herz, Joseph Harrison, Harry Jacobs, Ike Jacobs, E. Jackson, Dr. Jaulus, Albert Jacobs, Abe Klein. Among the guests were; Judga Taweett, Commissioner Lewis H. Pounds. Chief Inspector Kennedy of the Building Department, Police Captain Isaac Frank. ex-Judge Owen F. Finnerty, Dr. and Mrs. K. A. Blschof and Miss Marguerite Bischof, Dr. and Mrs. Hyman 'alvin. Judge and Mrs. A. II. Get.sniar, Judge Rosenthal, Frederick Lundy, William W. Maxwell and Mr. and Mrs. Edward Stratton,

Clipped from
  1. The Brooklyn Daily Eagle,
  2. 29 Mar 1912, Fri,
  3. Page 7

martea100 Member Photo
  • Leo Lowenthal at Coney Island Purim Ball

    martea100 – 03 Dec 2016

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in