50th Anniversary for Beth Jacob, Nov 1981 - Galveston Daily News

karen95828 Member Photo

Clipped by karen95828

50th Anniversary for Beth Jacob, Nov 1981 - Galveston Daily News - 14-A ®|* «6alfte«tuK 9«ilB Sunday Morning,...
14-A ®|* «6alfte«tuK 9«ilB Sunday Morning, November 29, 1981 50th anniversary event set at Events of the early days of Congregation Beth Jacob will be recalled Friday evening when 53 charter members are honored. Recognition will given to these pioneer members with the presentation of special certificates denoting their long-time association with the synagogue. The event will be held in conjunction with Sabbath Eve worship services at 8 p.m. and will mark the first of a series of four activities in a four-month span commemorating the 50th anniversary of the congregation. congregation. Charter members include those on the current mem-. bership rolls who were members when Beth Jacob was organized in 1931 or when the original synagogue synagogue building was dedicated dedicated in 1932. Those being honored are as follows: Mr. and Mrs. Marcus Adler, Mr. and Mrs. George Bronstein, Mr. and Mrs. B. Bulba, Mr. and Mrs. Ben CJark, Mrs. Max Claris Mrs. A. C. Farb, Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Farb, Sam Farb, Mrs, Morris Forman, Mr. and Mrs. Sam Hauser, Mrs. Abe Halfant, I. Jansburg, Mr. and Mrs. I. Kaplan, Mrs. Jacob Kellner, Mr. and Mrs. Sol Kogut, Mrs. Mendel Kreisler, Mrs. M. Leaman, Mrs. Charles Lerman, Mr. and Mrs. N. J. Levin, Morris Lippmann, Mrs. Frank Mandel, Mrs. Bernard Miller, Mrs. George Moskowitz, Mr. and Staff Photo by Bill Barry A look at the charter Joe Schwartz, a member of the original board of trustees of Congregation Congregation Beth Jacob, looks at a copy of the congregation's state charter, granted in March, 1931. Schwartz, who is now serving as gabbai of the congregation and who was one of the 16 signees of the charter, will be one of 53 charter members honored Friday night. In the background ?»re the Holy Ark and Eternal Light used in the main sanctuary of Beth Jacob's first synagogue building and which are now part of the small sanctuary facilities. Mrs. Isaac Ozon, Mr, and Mrs. Irving Peterman, Mrs, Sam Plantowsky, Mrs. Abram Pozmantier, Dr. N. Prujansky, Arthur Rabinowitz, Mr. and Mrs. Sol Reichstein, Mrs. Victor Reiswerg, Hyman Roseman, Mr. .and Mrs. Dave Rubenstein, Mrs. Louis Schneider, Mr, and Mrs. Eddie Schreiber, Joe Schwartz, Mrs. Henry Tin- terow and Mr. and Mrs. Willie Wolk. Sixteen members comprised comprised the Beth Jacob board of trustees who affixed their signatures to the congregation's congregation's charter application on March 16, 1931. They were Aaron Lerner, A. Oshman, Max Baum, H. Rauch, Ralph Seibel, Morris Clark, Henry Tinterow, Mendel Kreisler, Joe Schwartz, Louis Halfant, Max Schreiber, Sol Reichstein, Morris Klein, Isaac Hauser, S. Massin and Joe Druss. The charter was given final approval and the state seal affixed on March 25. Granting of the charter v capped a five-week period " during which Congregation Beth Jacob was formed by merging two Orthodox congregations-Young Men's Hebrew Association and Hebrew Orthodox Benevolent Association. Rabbi Emeritus Louis Feigon, who arrived in Galveston in December, 1930, was the congregation's first spiritual leader, serving serving in that capacity for nearly 30 years.

Clipped from
  1. The Galveston Daily News,
  2. 29 Nov 1981, Sun,
  3. Page 14

karen95828 Member Photo
  • 50th Anniversary for Beth Jacob, Nov 1981 - Galveston Daily News

    karen95828 – 25 Jan 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in