F Manning

mkortmeyer Member Photo

Clipped by mkortmeyer

F Manning - TUESDAY, AUGUST 27, 1940 Wood River Post...
TUESDAY, AUGUST 27, 1940 Wood River Post American Legion Installs Officers \V. F. Me Daniels, New Commander, Announces Committees WOOD RIVER, Aug. 27 — W. L- McDaniel, Wood River man- Lr of (ho C. J. Jacoby Furniture f-o was Installed as commander nf American Legion Post 204, at « meeting Monday night, L. H, Holland conducted the Installation Sices. E. V. Giehl, of Giehl printing Co., is the retiring commander. Others who took office were senior vice-commander, Stanley Martin; finance officer, D. Hi Hunter, sergeant-at-arms, J. R. Oavldson; county representative, Cecil Dnhncke; building custodian, Fred Penning, and members of the executive board, William R. Stoneham, William Luman, 1, H. Holland and Charles R. Baker. The elected officers along with the adjutant and immediate past commander comprise the executive board. Appointive Officers Appointed officers include the following: Adjutant, E. F. Brave; chaplain, Elmer Trout; historian, A, E. Micners; service officer, J. E. Mahoney; athletic officer, Harry Frcdeking; Americanism, R. W. Nuse; employment, A. B. Harris; judge advocate, L. H. Holland; grave registrar, L. L. Scott; publicity, E. V. Giehl, and post physician, Dr. Leo Konzen. Retiring commander Giehl, in a brief address, thanked the members of the post for the fine cooperation given him during the year. Giehl told members that 1941 should be a banner year for the American Legion everywhere and that Wood River post would doubtless participate in an enlarged program. From all indications the Legion will surplant the work of the national guard aften the guardsmen have been called into service, he said. The retiring commander stressed his appreciation of the excellent work done by the post's drum and bugle corps committee. Chairmen and committees', which were announced by the new commander are: Drum corps, Fred Penning, Harry Fredeking, William Luman, J. R. Davidson and Clarence Ash; boy scouts, Omar Lyon, Harry Marks, Gus H. Bangert and William R. Mitchell sons of legion, Wesley Lucking, A. N. Norlhway, Egnatz Markovich, William Clayton, Lawrence Forsting and Leo H. Langham; Madison county meeting, E. V. iGehl, Edward Wray, Louis Willmuth, Charles Harvick, Charles O. Krejci and Thomas Hargis; ways and means, Oliver Vernor, WiJHam Kienstra, G. W. Stahlhut, John Stahlheber, Oscar L. Bond and William Frazicr; by-laws, Francis Manning, William Kienstra, Russell Durham, Dr. S. H. Allen, as- of of in the the the ed in

Clipped from
  1. Alton Evening Telegraph,
  2. 27 Aug 1940, Tue,
  3. Page 3

mkortmeyer Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in