Daryl Moen - High School Press Conference Slated

bryan Member Photo

Clipped by bryan

Daryl Moen - High School Press Conference Slated - High School Press^ Conference Slated Over 800...
High School Press^ Conference Slated Over 800 high school student ournalists, their advisers .and chool administrator* are ex- ected to attend the 20th fall onference of Jhe Wisconsin nippewa Valley School Press ssociation on Thursday, Octo- >er 16, on the campus of Wis- onsin State University — Eau laire. The one - day event is expect- d to attract delegates from ome 70 Wisconsin h.igh schools, hey will be attending sessions n newspaper and yearbook ournalism and competing for everal writing and display wards. Ronald J. Philips, director of he Technology Utilization Di- ision of NASA, will fly in from Washington, D.C., to deliver the ickoff speech on "Responsibil- ty and the Dynamics of Change." He will later be in- errogated by students partici- tating in the mass interview iompetition session. The youngest professional lewspaper editor in Wisconsin Daryl Moen, editor of the Portage Daily Register, will give he address at the A n n u a Awards Luncheon. Moen is a raduate of Eau Claire State University and a former edi- or of the campus newspaper he Spectator. He is expectec ,o speak on the role of the newspaper editor today. Forty - five special sectiona' meeting will feature professional editors, university professors, professional yearbook ex >erts, outstanding high schoo advisers, and leading studen editors. Area editors appearing on the >rogram include Fred Steffen Sau Claire Leader and Tele jram; John.Lavine, Chippewa rlerald-Telegram; Ken Teach out, La Crosse Tribune; B i 1 Inder, Durand Courier-Wedge and Henry Gingras, Sauk Part rie Star, Eau Claire University ournalism professors Rober Smith, Irv Grossman, Leslie Polk, and Merritt Christensen will be joined by colleagues rom WSU—River Falls a n c WSU — Oshkosh on the program. Heading up the yearbook instruction will be Otto Q u a 1 e, director of the National Scholastic Press Association, M i n- neapolis, nationally known expert on student yearbooks. He will be joined by James Bull, regional representative of American Yearbook Company r o m Chicago, and Norman Dowdy, national representative of Taylor Publishing Company rom Dallas. Area representa- ives from American and Tayor will also appear on the program. A special section of the program has been set aside for the .chool administrator this year. Appearing will be Marvin Nelson, superintendent of schools, "ony; Arthur Spoolman, super- ntendent of schools, Hayward; Kermit Miller, superin- endent of schools, Stanley; Faher James O'Connell/.p r i n- cipal, La Crosse Aquinas; and James Bollinger, principal, Wausau East. At the awards luncheon presentation will be made for general excellence in both newspaper and yearbook, and for outstanding writing in editorial feature, and news story cate- jories. Congressman Alvin O'Konski will award the Congressman's Cup to the winner of the mass interview competition, A special feature of the conference N wilI be the naming of the winner of the Outstanding Adviser Award and the dedica tion of the day to the winner at the opening convocation Last year Win Johnson o Amery became the first adviser to gain this recognition. Assit. Prof. Elwood Karwand, chairman of the WSU - EC journalism .department a n c WCVSPA executive secretary is in charge of the program He is assisted by the WCVSPA directors Richard Halle, Marsh field;Thomas Frisbie, Eau Claire North; Mrs. Darlene Wil son, Tomah; Mrs. Viola Sher ren, Neillsville; Sister M. Ju lie Anne, La Crosse Aquinas Mrs. Josephine Gerlach, Coch rane - Fountain City; Keith Lindquist, Cumberland; Eugene Luth, Rice Lake; Callista Me Cauley, Cameron; and Davic Ritsche, Turtle Lake. • at

Clipped from
  1. Eau Claire Leader,
  2. 11 Oct 1969, Sat,
  3. Page 2

bryan Member Photo
  • Daryl Moen - High School Press Conference Slated

    bryan – 31 May 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in