WFM AMPR

lisaschaefer Member Photo

Clipped by lisaschaefer

WFM AMPR - Ancient Amusement Devices Collected in Unique...
Ancient Amusement Devices Collected in Unique Museum The American Museum of Public Recreation, showplace for the amusement devices of yesteryear, will hold a meeting soon to elect its first officers. It was recently Incorporated. A working model of the "centrifugal railway," Coney Island's first Loop-the-Loop thriller in the 90s, the first steam engine ever installed in a carousel and a stilted wooden lion, , 125 years old, which graced one of the earlier merry-go-rounds, are typical exhibits already housed in a building at the corner of W. 8th st. and Sheepshead Bay rd., leased at a nominal rental from Miss Mary E. Dillon, president of the Brooklyn Boro Gas Company. The museum was the idea of William F. Mangels, for years one of the country's leading amusement device manufacturers. He originally proposed It in 1927, before the National Convention of Amusement Parks, where the Idea was enthusi astically received. Recently estates of several promi nent men have added to the exhibits of the museum. The late Louis Stauch, one of the most colorful figures of Coney Island, left a whole storeroom of articles. G. A. Denzel, amusement man from Philadelphia, in nis win made provision that tools and benches, used to make carousels in the 60s and 70s, be turned over to the Coney Island institution. He also left old brass and copper kerosene lamps which were used in those days to "brilliantly illuminate" the merry-go-rounds. The museum has autographed letters, one of them

Clipped from
  1. The Brooklyn Daily Eagle,
  2. 09 Jun 1929, Sun,
  3. Page 28

lisaschaefer Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in