Clipped From Ames Daily Tribune

kellyghaynes Member Photo

Clipped by kellyghaynes

AMES TEAM IS WINNER WITH SCORE OF Marshalltown Is Close Second With 326 John MacRae, Iowa State col lege freshman last year, won med alist honors with a score of 76 Monday in the qualifying round of the Ce'ntral Iowa Golf association tournament at the Ames Golf and Country club. MacRae led a field of 64 which exactly fillet four nights of 16. The Ames team, which included Clark Tilden, Ben King, Cass Smith and Bruce Firkins, won the team championship with a score of 323. Marshalltown was close behind with 326. The first and seconu rounds, of 18 holes each, were to be played Tues'lay, with the semifinals and finals, also of IS holes each, Wednesday. Wednesday. Newton In 1934 The 1934 ^tournament will he held ir Newton, it was decided at the dinner and business meeting held Monday evening at the club house. Officers were not elected because representatives of the Newton dub were unable to be present. " In qualifying Monday, most of the players had trouble with their putting and scores -were generally high. L« Roy Vanderwicker of Grundy Center and J. B. Harris of Jewell took 77 strokes apiece and Clark Tilden, former Central Iowa champion who regained the Ames club championship Sunday, made 2. 78. Four former champions, Tildern. John Powers, jr., of Ames and Dies Arney and Glenn Cooper of Marshalltown are competing. Leo Walcott of Eldora, the 1932 champion, champion, did not appear to defend his title. The pairings for the tournament follow: CHAMPIONSHIP FLIGHT , LeRoy Vanderwicker (Grundy Center) TB. Paul Elfors (Marshalltown). (Marshalltown). Dick Arney (Marshalltown) vs. Don Carlos (Perry). J. B. Harris (Jewell) TS. Clive Matthews (Marshalltown). B. J. Firkins (Ames) vs. John Haynes (Oskaloosa). Glean Cooper (Marshalltown) TS. W. M. Dunagan (Ames). Clark Tilden (Ames) vs. L. C. Taylor (Eldora), W. M. McFarlin (Montezuma) vs. Vernon Bowman (Ames). John MacRae (Ames) vs. John Powers jr. (Ames). AMES FLIGHT Ben King (Ames) vs. L. C. Wilson Wilson (Ames). Frank Miller (Boone) vs. F. J. Jarvis (Oskalosa). .A. H. E. Mathews (Marshalltown) (Marshalltown) vs. W. F. Watkins (Ames). -John Larsen -(Ames) vs. Steve McQuaid (Marshalltown). R. A. Moyer (Ames) vs. J. D. Tay'or (Ames). Frank Walker (Marshalltown) vs. J. M. Douglas (Marshalltown). J. Clinton Williams (Marshalltown) (Marshalltown) vs. Boh Simpson (Ames). Pete Madsen (Ames) vs. Cass Smith (Ames). NEW DEAL FLIGHT W. F. Coover (Ames) vs. Ralph Williams (Marshalltown). C. Gf. Lee (Ames) vs. R. J. Roze- hoom (Ames). H. L. Sunderlin (State Center) vs. R. F. Fenton (Jewell). R. V, Williams (Marshalltown) vs. H. R. Lotz (Ames). Ed Thompson (Marshalltown) vs. R. W. Borgeson (Ames), Jim Sunstrom (Eoone) vs. Ernie Haber (Ames). Hugo Otopalik (Ames) vs. F. L. Crumbaugh (Oskaloosa). PROSPERITY FLIGHT C. S- Roberts (Ames) TS. Laverne Laverne Johnson (Ames). W. H. Jameson (Ames) vs. K. L. Lee (Ames). Grant Dudgeon (Ames) vs. Harry Harry Johnson (Oskaloosa). L. C. Tilden (Ames) vs. Bill Ash (Ames). Jim Ash (Ames) v. O. Trueblood (Ames). J. L. Powers (Ames) vs. E. B. Towne (Ames). Carl Foote (State Center) vs R. D. Connelley (State Center). Merl Robins (Ames) vs. Mark Morris (Ames). The qualifying scores follow: John MacRae (Ames) 76. LeRoy Vanderwicker (Grundy Center) 77. J. B.'Harris (Jewell) 77, Clark Tilden (Ames) 78; Glenn Cooper (Marshalltown) 79. B. J. Firkins (Ames) 79, Dick Arney (Marshalltown) (Marshalltown) SO, Bill McFarlin (Montezuma) (Montezuma) 80, Clive Matthews (Marshalltown) (Marshalltown) 81, John Powers jr.. (Ames) 81, Paul Elfers (Marshalltown) (Marshalltown) 81. V. Bowman (Ames) S2, Walter Dunagan (Ames) 82. Don Carlos (Perry) 82. L. C. Taylor (Eldora) S2, John Haynes (Oskaloosa) K. Ben King (Ames) S". Cass Smith (Ames) 83, Frank Walker (Mar- Eballtown) 83.

Clipped from
  1. Ames Daily Tribune,
  2. 20 Jun 1933, Tue,
  3. Page 3

kellyghaynes Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in