Clipped From The Independent-Record

byronhallock Member Photo

Clipped by byronhallock

 - j ' ' I I ofj de- 11 legal-ized Meyer Wins...
j ' ' I I ofj de- 11 legal-ized Meyer Wins State Title Helena's Dennis Meyer repeat-; ncy and Philipsbui'i! Tailed lo cd a, the state 160-pound wrr,- ^c. ^ ^ ^ ^ tling champion m the stale wres-| wrest|er ,0 reach ,he finals tling tourney al Great Falls Sat-) Besides the four individual urday night and led his team] titles picked up by Missoula Hel lo a fifth place finish in Classic™ Km uitc. ivmspeu ana nose- AA. The powerful Missoula Sparlans copped four state championships and piled up 135 points to win the Class AA title in a breeze. Bozeman caplured two state individual titles and got 72 points to win tbc Class A crown and brcaii a six year string by Custer oj Miles City. in the Class — I AA scoring were: (jt'eat Falls 79, kalispeil 75, Butte 40, Helena 22, Billings Senior 13. Butte Cen-record | tral 8, Anaconda 8 and Billings :Wcst 3. Id-; Following Boieman in Class A was: Glasgow 4,1, Custcr of Miles by City 31. Hardin 11, Malta 8, j Crmit Falls Central 5. Poison 4, I Havre 2, Livingston 2, Billings | Central. Clcndivc, Laurel. Sid- Cop Title man two each, and Great Falls 3. The quickest pin of the tourney was registered by Gary Kauffman al Malta who pinned Helena's Mike- Grimes in 20 seconds. . Gene Davis, 112-pound champ from Missoula, won the trophy as the outstanding wrestler of the tourney. The summary follows with the champion and runnerup in each division in that order: 95 pounds—Mike Ellison, Missoula: Allan Johnson, Kalispeil. 103— Joe Lee, Kalispeil; Jerry Craig, Missoula. 112— Gene Davis, Missoula; Tom Hodges, Great Falls. 120— Ron Sowers, Great Falls; Brian Smith. Missoula. 127— Kent Kerschner, Bozeman: Bob Palmer. Missoula. m^Frank Koiandich. Missoula: John Dinsmore, Butte. 138 — lim CJuinn, Missoula: Mick Dinsmorc, Butte. 145— Dan Remington, Greal Falls; John Santa. Missoula. 154— Larry Baldwin, Great Falls; Clifton Cook, Glasgow. 165— Dennis Meyer, Helena; Clay Mccliam, Missoula. 380— Myron Ansden, Boieman: Bruce Langaunet, Missoula. Heavyweight— Vic Green, Kalispeil; Boh Chrislonsen, Missoula.

Clipped from
  1. The Independent-Record,
  2. 25 Feb 1962, Sun,
  3. Page 8

byronhallock Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in