Soybean Contest 1973

rgoinloco Member Photo

Clipped by rgoinloco

Soybean Contest 1973 - is to Haas wins soybean award Laurel J. Haas of...
is to Haas wins soybean award Laurel J. Haas of Marengo proved it is possible to be both an active public official and a successful farmer last week by winning the Iowa county soybean growers contest. The county award, sponsored by the Farmers Cooperative Grain & Lumber. Co. of Conroy, went to Haas for his top yield in the county of 52.93 bushels an acre. Dwight Felling, also of .Marengo, placed second with a yield of 51.57 bushels an acre. Ten contestants entered the fifth annual contest. Haas had placed third in the contest for four straight years before winning this year. '•>" The ten entries in this year's contest averaged more than 47 bushels per acre, slightly less than in 1972, but weather was cited as a factor in the lower yield. The average yield for the state is over 60 bushels per acre. Also entered in the contest were Newton Jones, Raymond Roberts, John Buser, Nyle Felling, Robert Hawkins, Carroll Gorsch, Ralph Jones and Henry Plagmann, jr. Haas is a member of the Iowa county board of supervisors and spends one to two days a week on that job.

Clipped from
  1. Williamsburg Journal Tribune,
  2. 22 Mar 1973, Thu,
  3. Page 10

rgoinloco Member Photo
  • Soybean Contest 1973

    rgoinloco – 04 Dec 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in