Note: This clipping was created from a page that has been replaced with a better quality image. 

Lakeshore HS Awards Night

sarah502 Member Photo

Clipped by sarah502

BENTON HARBOR -- ST. JOSEPH, MICHIGAN FRIDAY, MAY 27, 1S77 ,000 In Awards Given At Lakeshore By ALAN ABEND Staff Writer Scholarships and awards totaling (90,000 in value were presented to outstanding 1977 graduates and students of Lakeshore high school last night during honors ceremonies in the high school auditorium. Welcoming remarks were made by Edward J. Reilly, high school principal. Members of the nigh school teaching staff, administrators, and leaders of various area civic groups presented the awards and' scholarships. Some of the awards and schloarships have been previously announced. Among students recognized as major scholarship winners were Diane Ackall, Mary Lou Boelcke, Kevin Campbell, Rhonda Edwards, Tom Jager, Vickie Kemp, Anita Koppier, Jill Lachman, Sandy Lambert, Melvin Maehemer. Mike Mason. Eric Stokes, Larry Toth, and Dave Whipple. Miss Ackall received an academic scholarship to Texas Christian university and a music scholarship. Miss Boelcke received an academic scholarship to St. Mary's college. Campbell received the Lakeshore Lion's scholarship to the university of his choice. Miss Edwards received a combined academic and athletic scholarship to Northwestern university. She also received the Century Leader .award, D.A.R. Revolution award, and the . Delta Phi Psi Sorority scholastic award. Jager received an athletic scholarship' to Western Michigan university. Miss Kemp received the Williams Works scholarship and Marion Guild scholarship. Miss Koppier received a Michigan State university crea- tive arts scholarship. Miss Lachman received a scholarship to Western Michigan university. Miss Lambert received a Central Michigan university board of trustees grant. Machemer received a music scholarship to Concordia college. Mason received an athletic scholarship to UCLA. Stokes received a scholarship to Ml. Union college. x Toth received a tuition scholarship to HiUsdale college. Whipple received a Whirlpool Corp., scholarship to the university of his choice and a University of Michigan Regents Alumni scholarship. Receiving Lake Michigan, college scholarships were Craig Hadady, John .Drews, Mike Bradley and Paula Wesner. Tamara Brame won a Southwestern Michigan College grant. Blossom Queen At Indy 500 Miss Blossomtime Kathy Necas of Stevensville is in Indianapolis representing southwestern Michigan in the Indianapolis "500" race and the '"500" festival activities. Miss Necas left for Indianapolis yesterday and attended the last day of car testing and the Mechanics banquet last night. Tonight, she will be- attending the Queen's ball. Paper Waste By STEVE McQLOWN Staff Writer WATERVLIET -- A $500,000 system to deodorize industrial waste waters will be put into operation sometime early next She will ride in the "500" festival parade tomorrow 7 in Float No. 93 sponsored by Fister and Clements realtors. The parade can be viewed live on Channel 22 starting at 1:30 p.m. and it will be rebroadcast at 9 p.m. on Channel 9. Miss Blossomtime's stay in Indianapolis will conclude on Sunday when she will attend the 61st running of the "500" mile race at the Indianapolis motor speedway. KATHYNECAS At ii$ m Firm Ending Odor Soon Prior to that, it had been dumping the waters into the Paw Paw river. But in 1975, people living near the 90-acre field began complaining of odors "like raw deodorize the waters. Under the new system. Lawton said, by using chemicals and aerating the waste water under pressure, 92 per cent of the solids will be collected at the Ursula Smaka was named recipient of the future secretaries scholarship. Kathy Mensinger and Jeff Nitz were awarded Baroda Civic Women's League scholarships. The Virginia Archer choral scholarship was presented to Julie Toussant and Kim Brown received the ski club scholarship. Tammy Aungst won a Twin Cities Beauty college scholarship and Ila House a St. Joseph Beauty college scholarship. Becky Robins was named recipient of an Albion college music schojarship and Margot Sherrington received a stipend to Michigan State university. Michigan competitive scholarship winners announced last night included: Diane Ackall. Debbie Ashbrook. Ruth Atkinson. Tammy Aungst, Karen Avcry, Larry Banks. Richard Berndt, Mary Lou Boelcke, Jon Bomberger, Kevin Campbell, Kelly Clark, Lorey Cross, Marti Crowe. Jim Curry, John Drews, Rhonda Edwards, Jim Fedcran, Belinda Fincher, Buddy Fenzel, Dave Gilbert, Scott Gillette, Jeanne Graber. Craig Hadady. Debra Hamilton. Dave Hasslct, .John Imbs. Tom Jager, Janice Johnson, Vickie Kemp, Anita Koppier. Others included: Jill Lachman, Sandy Lambert. Becky Lange, Burt Lcland. Melvin Machemer, Mike Mason, Kathy Mensinger, Kathy Meyer, Ron Moschioni, Pam Nidiffer, Mary Nye, Steve Pitts. Pat Savers. Bob Schindler, Greg Shafer. Laura Shapleigh, Margin Sherrington, Jim Staneik, Craig Steenbergh, Mark Stemm. Eric Stokes. Larry Toth, Steve Trudell. Tim Tyler, William Welch, Paula- Wesner, Dave Whipple, Randi Wilhelmsen and Barbara Zordell. Honor graduates of the senior class cited, in alphabetical order, were Karen Avery, Mary Loti Boelcke. Tamara Brame. Darlene Gleffe, Tracie Greuel. Jill Lachman, Burt Leland, Melvin Machemer, Kathy Mensinger. Margot Sherrington, Mark Slemm and Dave Whippie. Students receiving academic and civic awards were: American Legion citizenship award -- Rhonda Edwards and Melvin Machemer. American Legion speech award -- Paula Wesner. LAKESHORE SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS: These Lakeshore high school seniors were scholarship winners honored last night during school's honors night ceremonies in high school auditorium. First row, from left, are Paula Wesner, Mary Lou Boelcke, Kevin Campbell, Vicki Kemp and Sandy Lambert. Back row, from left, are Tammy Brame, Anita pier. Jill Lachman, Diane Aekall and Rhonda Edwards. (Vickie Laws photos) OTHER SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS: Other scholarship recepients honored at Lakeshore high school's honors ceremonies were, front row, from left, Eric Stokes, Larry Toth, Burt Leland and John Drews. Back row, from left, Dave Whipple, Tom Jager, Mike Mason, Craig Hadady and Melvin Machemer. Sarah Kirby. Thespian award -- Lisa Thomas. Auditorium award -- Rick Fechner and Mike Bradley. Journalism award -- Kathy Mensinger. English award -- Laura Shapleigh. Spanish award -- Tom Ed- . wards and Barbara Scott. German award -- Mary Lou Boelcke. Mathmaties award -- Karen Avery. N , Office education award -Dawn Mervenne. Home economics award -Irene Wilson. Mary Lou Boelcke. Fine Arts award -- Margot Sherrington. Art award -- Dave Whipple. Art service awards -- Cathy Young. Margot Sherringtcm and Anita Koppier. Key club grants -- Ila House, Tom Gillis and Don Richards. Michigan Society of Professional Engineers award -- Vicky Kemp, Burt Leland and Craig Hadady. National school choral award -- Melvin Machemer. Agriculture awards -- Kurt Hartline and Ron Wesner. National Merit commended students -- Mars' Lou Boelcke, Jeanne Graber. Margot Sherrington and Eric Stokes. Bosch Lomb science award -- Craig Hadady. Athletic awards -- Kathy Mensinger and Tom-Jager. Also honored were Burl Leland. valedictorian, and Tamara Brame, salutatorian, along with members of Lakeshore's chapter of the National Honor society. Quill Scroll recipients and student council members. ' Berrien's Jobless Rate Drops To 7.7 Per Cent

Clipped from The News-Palladium, 27 May 1977, Fri,  Page

sarah502 Member Photo
  • Lakeshore HS Awards Night

    sarah502 – 03 Jan 2018

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in

Other Clippings by sarah502 (See all)