Johnny Nehls

baker_kate81 Member Photo

Clipped by baker_kate81

Johnny Nehls - Teams May Join Muny League Until Dec. 1 The...
Teams May Join Muny League Until Dec. 1 The Municipal League has again been organized in Rhinelander to provide basketball for men out of high school and college. The eight- team league started its season Tuesday night. Games will be play- ed each night at gym Tuesday and' Thursday the Senior High School Any othes teams wishing to join the league are asked to call Ray Warren before Dec. 1. The schedule has been drawn, but will be changed if other teams would like to enter. Entry fee is $30 and it must be paid before Dec. 1. The Muny League is organized and directed by its members. Men are assigned to handle the scoring duties and others are posted to maintain discipline. If a player is rejected from a game, he is not allowed to play the next one. If he is rejected from two games, he is automatically dropped from the league. The by-laws of the loop are strict and a board sees that they are enforced. The league plays a round-robin schedule. After the regular schedule has been completed, a tournament is held The winner is awarded a trophy. Coca-Cola was the 1952-53 champion. The eight teams and the members of each are as follows: Coca-Cola: Al Lukarich (mgr), Bob Swett, Argene Bloomquist, Glen Reed, Byron Brooke, Charlie Lewis, Bob Fritz and Ray Warren. Pine Harbor: Arvin Stein (mgr), Tom Wood, Dick Verage, Clyde Larson, Dennis Fisher, Roger Robinson, Jack Wadzinski, Jim Counter and Rog Huebner. Old Village: Gene Palmer (mgr), Dale Stroede, Jim Gaber, Bob Vlahakis.'Delore Dean, John Read- r, Jack Groff, Keith Tober and Bernie Froehlich. Starks: Dick Murray (mgr), Dick Scharp, Bob Scharp, Don Nelis, Bob Kuczmarski, Don Kuczmarski, Charles Cline, Charles Rasmussen, Clarence Jewell and Connie Moore. Claiiie's Rustic Aire: Bruce Bartholomew (mgr), Len Bruyette, Fred Danner, Bonn Lindwall, John Nehls, Dick Rolain, Terry Treu, Archie Whittaker and Dave Carlson. VFW: Bernie Bernier (mgr), Russ Newman, George Cebula, Dick Sauer, Butch Sommers, Clarence Petersen, Dick McKenzie and Chick Brooks. O'Melia's Service: Doug Chariton (mgr), Pete Terzynski, Clarence Starczinski, Jim McGinley, Den Juetten, Myron McCone and Jack Lewis. Mel's and Gilley's: Dick LeClaire (mgr), Fran Counter, Pete Counter, Dave Budhol, Pete Miller, Dale Rheaume, Bill Reader Dick Stafford and Ken Flory.

Clipped from
  1. The Rhinelander Daily News,
  2. 25 Nov 1953, Wed,
  3. Page 10

baker_kate81 Member Photo

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in