20 May 1958 Daily Ind Jnl Goddess race result

jennifer_hinkel Member Photo

Clipped by jennifer_hinkel

20 May 1958 Daily Ind Jnl Goddess race result - to existed in Co. of Giants existence. hit...
to existed in Co. of Giants existence. hit unencumbered. request in be to THE MARIN LOG By BETTY FROST, l-J Yachting Editor Record Fleet Of 20Takes In 25 thRunning Of Hearst Regatta Twenty-fifth running of the Hearst All Clubs Regatta briught a record fleet of 200 sailing craft to compete in bay races Sunday. While a low- hanging fog shrouded the channel channel and lent an element of mystery to the day, steady mild breezes made for comfortable sailing. Post-mortem talk around the clubhouses centered on the coup of Jake Wosser of Tiburon, Tiburon, Star boat champion since 1933, who is taking the International International Class, Rutsan, around the YRA marks for the first time this year. Off to a discouraging start 30 minutes later than the rest of the trim Internationals, the former former commodore of San Francisco Francisco Yacht Club finished three minutes ahead of Bob Vidmar’s Gipsy. While the rest of the IC fleet was committed to exploring the Marin shore of Angel Island, wily Wosser rounded the Berkeley shoal Marker 8, then returned to Chrissy Field buoy by the most direct route, evoiding the strongest flood tide currents, and picking up the first of the ebb. Aldo Alessio’s Mistress II was back in the number one spot in the Farrallone Clipper battle, leaving H. D. Trask’s Hoyeden II 1 minute and 2 seconds seconds astern at the finish. John Ford, whose prowess at the helm of a Bird Boat has kept the S.F. Bay Perpetual Trophy in the possession of Sausalito Yacht Club for three seasons, took the Skylark across the line ahead of the Bird Boat Fleet. It was a good day for the Sausalito Club, with first places going to Malcolm De Wees skippering Angel in the PIC contest, James Palmer’s Palmer’s Gambit in the Maya class, Frank Mieszkowski’s Fricka in Division 9 and Ron Oakes’ Norvik Norvik in Division 17. The yachtsmen will have a chance to relive the day’s adventures adventures when movies of the race are shown at the trophy party at St. Francis Yacht Club the evening of June 11. Those who will be eligible to pick up trophies that night include: Rhodes 33, St. Francis III, Dean Mormon, 2:19:25; Dusty, Hugh Harris. 2:19:29; Happy Fella, Bob Bernheim, 2:21:19. PIC: Angel, Malcolm De Wees, 2:42:09: Vandal, Carter Wells, 2:55:09; 2:55:09; Mischief, Reg, Hearn, 3:02:46. 3:02:46. IC class: Rutsan, Frank Wosser, 2:54:32; Gipsy, Robert Vidmar, 2:57:32; Icy Folly, Paul De Silva, 2:58:38. Farallon Clipper: Mistress II. Also Alessio. 2:36:43; Hoyden II, H. D. Trask, 2:37:45; Goddess. C. F. Briggs, 2:38:17. Bird Class: Skylark. John Ford, 2:12:35; Polly, Phil Wallace. 2:17:11; 2:17:11; Puffin, Dick Hver, 2:18:47. 210: Sou’wester, Tom Conroy, 3:13:54; Harpoon, Larry Smith, 3:21:09; Highland Brigade, Keith Buck, 3:21:10. Maya Class: Gambit. James Palmer. Palmer. 2:06:26; Squirrelv, Don Durant, Durant, 2:09:40: Sacrebleu, Dick Lindsey, 2:18:19. Treasure Island: Rebel, George Hunt, 2:14:35: Caduceus, George Newkirk. 2:14:57; Kabuki, George Oldershaw, 2:18:54. Buccanneer: Red Witch, Larry Grinnell, 2:15:01; Corsair, David Giosso, 2:15:14; Cutlass, Harry White, 2:15:40. Folkboat Class: Amber, V. H. Jensen. 2:25:38; Hi Fi. R. A. Metzger. Metzger. 2:26:24; Lady, Oliver Harle, 2:27:40. Star Class: Good Grief. Tom Blackaller, 2:03:41; Ouija, J. Scarborough, 2:05:38: Music II, P. Schoonmaker, 2:06:08. Bear Class: Frolic. Ralph Leith - ner, 3:14:31; Huck Finn, Chas. Boren, 3:14:50; L’Orso, Joe De Meter, 3:19:32. Golden Gate Class: Bairn, Robert Robert Treacy, 3:01:58: Smoothie Too. George Schultz, 3:09:49; Ryot, Len Delmas, 3:14:04. Windward: Bora, W. H. Claussen, Claussen, 2:19:17; Pgan III, C. Gasparich, Gasparich, 2:19:36; Westerly, E. S. Warner. 2:22:06. Junior Clipper Class: Windfall, Norm Louvau, 2:15:42; Aloha. Doug Johnson, 2:20:42; Hela II, Carl Trussing, 2:21:41. Acorn: Eight Ball, Ben Davis. 2:15:24: Runami, E. Rideout. 2:15:42: 2:15:42: Sea Point, Clarence Baptiste. 2:17:25. Hurricane Class: Mistral. N. S. Pedersen, 2:21:52; Random. W. B Clausen, 2:22:28; Haven, W. F. Gorman, 2:26:06. HANDICAP DIVISION Nine: Fricka, Frank Mieszkowski, Mieszkowski, 2:35:13: Dragon Fanny, B. B. Brooks, 2:37:00; Lady Carol, James Hurst, 2:37:43. Ten: Avanti, Dan Mezzetta, 2:38:10; 2:38:10; Cubana, Dick Lowrey, 2:44:52; 2:44:52; Numse, M. C. Smith. 2:46:22 2:46:22 . Eleven: Genii, C. Hendrickson. 1:58:59; Blue Sea, Jim Wilhite. 2:00:12; Marybeth, Bill Fisher, 2:01:25. Fifteen: Wing Ding. K. D. Carlson, Carlson, 1:58:28; Rubaiyat. Richard Fay, 2:00:19; Swallow, R. J. Minton. Minton. 2:05:01. Fourteen: Jeanne, R. J. Alderson. Alderson. 2:06:10; Argo. Donald Armour, 2:08:03; Elusive, K. J. Thompson, 2:08:51. Seventeen: Norvik. Ron Oakes. 1:50:51; Rival, Edgar Swinger, 1:52:55; Lissi, John R. Moore, 1:55:48. Cruising Club A: Baruna. James Michael, 2:09:41: Orinet, Tim Moseley, 2:12:24: Java Head, Elmer Peterson, 2:17:03. Cruising Club B: Kandu. Robert White. 2:12:14; Coral, Joe Esherick, 2:15:29; Pari Too, Roy Elliott, 2:21:33.

Clipped from Daily Independent Journal20 May 1958, TuePage 10

Daily Independent Journal (San Rafael, California)20 May 1958, TuePage 10
jennifer_hinkel Member Photo
  • 20 May 1958 Daily Ind Jnl Goddess race result

    jennifer_hinkel – 08 Dec 2014

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in