Clipped From The New York Age

tw971 Member Photo

Clipped by tw971

 - ai yor a - , received first honorable is...
ai yor a - , received first honorable is (mention for championing the. cause fu I of civic justice and rendering - service The the will any afti - Vr . M . ... . T. K,w the at 29 the on C to the people of Harlem by exposing corruption He is president of the Parent Association of P. 5. 119 and active in the work carried on for the Katy Ferguson Home and other welfare agencies. Mrs. Daisy C. Reed received second honorable mention for activities as president of the Utopia Neighborhood Club." Others to receive honorable men tion were Mrs. Mamie Bnggs lor bringing happiness to the lives of poor families at Christmas time; Mrs. Jeroline Winfield, for organizing the Red Cross Aid - in Harlem, and Tames Middleton for his work in ad - vocatim better housing conditions through the Harltm Community Council. Mrs. Aususta Corbin was present ed a bouquet of flowers for her in terest in social service work. The , Committee on Awards was composed of Mrs. Anna Robinson chairman. Miss Ernestine Rose, the Rev. A C. Garner1, Sidney Christian, Harold Jackman, Miss Eulalie Lane and Mrs. Elizabeth Ross Haynes. Mrs. Robinson, in introducing Miss Rose, head of the Harlem - Branch, New York Public Library, said: "Har lem has placed a premium on every thing from the most beautiful girl to the best dressed woman. - We pro pose to place a premium on volunteer social work In the nope that an in - creasing number may realize the vat - oe of unselfish service to the cause A. of contsructive social work, we have F. instituted the Rosewell Skeel . jr., I Awaras. uui n.oie reierrca io ... large number of nominations and the delightful work of the committee. Prior to the annuaimeeting the Executive Board of the New York Urban League, held a dinner meeting in the Board room, where, upon rec ommendation of the Nominating Committee Dr. E. P. Roberts, chair - nj r. fn - . tk. ..... I . . Arth,V uniA, - elected as follows: Arthur C. Holden, chairman; John E. Nail, vice chair man Eva D. Bowles, secretsry, and Curtis J. Beard, treasurer. Dr. P. F. Anderson and A. A. Austin, president of the Antillesn Holding Company, were unanimously, elected to membership on the Executive Board. The annual meeting was addressed by Paxton Hibbon, former secretary of the American Embassy in Mexico. tThe charflres said he "of communism and bolthevism in Mexico are ab - to in and of to ing rich traveling . and of meeting. Dr. for don J. ing les , the Battles,

Clipped from
  1. The New York Age,
  2. 22 Jan 1927, Sat,
  3. Page 9

tw971 Member Photo
  • Clipped by tw971 – 13 Sep 2013

Want to comment on this Clipping? Sign up for a free account, or sign in